2022–2023 Sanlam Group Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism Have Opened for Entries; New ESG Category to Shine Light on Africa’s Sustainability Issues

3 min read 14 December 2022

Entries for the 2022-2023 Sanlam Group Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism opened today with the introduction of a new category and a new co-sponsorship. Entries close on 28 February 2023.

With a 48-year track record of recognising the best of financial journalism first in South Africa and in the rest of the African continent since 2013, the awards are now co-sponsored by the Sanlam Group subsidiaries, Sanlam and Santam.

The new Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) category comprises two subcategories: Business and the Environment and Business and Society. Both categories seek to promote financial journalism that covers the critical issues in ESG on the African continent.

The awards cover financial journalism across print, radio, television, and online platforms. The competition is open to African journalists based in Africa, working in an African news organisation, and publishing or broadcasting their works on the continent.

Entries must have been published between 1 January and 31 December 2022. Entries must be submitted using the online entry form.

Information on the criteria for the ESG category is available in the following two articles:

Submissions must contain three pieces of journalistic work. The deadline for entries is 28 February 2023.

With the addition of the ESG categories, the competition now has nine categories:

  • Business and Companies
  • Economy
  • Financial Markets
  • Consumer Financial Education
  • The African Growth Story
  • ESG: Business and the Environment
  • ESG: Business and Society
  • Broadcast: Radio/Audio/Podcasting
  • Broadcast: Television/Video

Entries may not be duplicated across categories.

The Business and Companies, Economy, Financial Markets and Consumer Financial Education categories are open only to South African journalists. Entries must be from print and online media.

The African Growth Story, Broadcast: Audio, and Broadcast: Video categories are open to all journalists practising and publishing/broadcasting their work in Africa.

The independent judging panel consists of Nixon Kariithi (chair of the panel); Paula Fray (Expert media trainer); Charles Naude (Retired business editor); Ulrich Joubert (Retired independent economist); Ylva Rodny Gumede (Professor of media studies and international relations); Angela Agoawike (Communications consultant based in Nigeria); Tom Indimuli (Media consultant based in Kenya) and Emily May Brown (Media studies lecturer based in Namibia).